City of New Castle, DE
New Castle County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by The Mayor and Council of the City of New Castle by Res. No. 97-8 (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. II); amended in its entirety 1-11-2000 by Res. No. 2000-01. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
It is the purpose of this chapter to provide a comprehensive schedule of fees that may be properly charged and for charging disbursements on behalf of the City of New Castle pursuant to state law or the various chapters of the Code of the City of New Castle.
[Amended 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20]
A. 
Whenever by any provision of the Delaware Code or the Code of the City of New Castle the issuance of a permit or other action by any agency, officer or employee of the town is required, the fee thereafter shall be determined by reference to the following schedule:
(1) 
Building permits (including permits for signs and fences) are charged in accordance with the value of the work being done.
[Amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34; 10-8-2019 by Res. No. 2019-38;[1]]
(a) 
For work or improvements valued at less than $250: No permit is required, except for fences and signs in all districts and for all work and improvements in the Historic Districts regardless of value.
(b) 
For work or improvements valued at $250 but less than $1,000: $50.
(c) 
For work or improvements valued at more than $1,000 but less than $1,000,000; $150 plus 1.5% of the value of such work or improvements.
(d) 
For work or improvements valued at more than $1,000,000: $200, plus 1.5% of the value of such work or improvements.
(e) 
Permit fees shall be doubled if work is begun prior to issuance of a building permit.
(f) 
For any property located in that portion of the City designated as a "Downtown Development District" (DDD) under 22 Del. C. §§ 1901 et seq., no fee for a building permit shall be required for:
[1] 
New or replacement signage; and/or
[2] 
Facade improvements; and/or
[3] 
Installation of underground utilities; and/or
[4] 
Sidewalk improvements.
[1]
Editor's Note: This resolution also provided that the fee waiver for properties in the Downtown Development District shall remain valid for only as long as the City's DDD program remains certified by the State of Delaware.
(2) 
Certificate of occupancy:
(a) 
Residential, except new construction: $50.
(b) 
Commercial and industrial and new residential: $100.
(3) 
Zoning verification: $100.
[Amended 4-10-2012 by Ord. No. 486]
(4) 
Temporary compliance certificate: $50.
(5) 
Historic Area Commission applications/historic review certificate.
[Amended 10-8-2019 by Res. No. 2019-37]
(a) 
$50; provided, however, that for any property located in that portion of the City designated as a "Downtown Development District" (DDD) under 22 Del.C. §§ 1901 et seq., no fee for a Historic Area Commission application or review certificate shall be required for:
[1] 
New or replacement signage; and/or
[2] 
Facade improvements; and/or
[3] 
Installation of underground utilities; and/or
[4] 
Sidewalk improvements.
(b) 
This fee waiver for properties in the Downtown Development District shall remain valid for only as long as the City's DDD program remains certified by the State of Delaware. All work performed in an historic district, residential or commercial, requires prior approval of the Historic Area Commission and the issuance of an historic review certificate pursuant to §§ 230-45 and 230-52B. Applicants for work to be done in Historic Zoning Districts must submit applications to the Historic Area Commission and obtain the required certificate in addition to obtaining a building permit.
(6) 
Filing fee for an appeal to or any other application to the Board of Adjustment:
(a) 
In connection with property in an OS&R, R-1, R-2, R-3 or HR District: $800.
[Amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34]
(b) 
In connection with property in an HC, RC or SC District: $800.
(c) 
In connection with property in an LIO or I District: $1,600.
(d) 
Where the change is to Downtown Gateway (DG):
[Added 9-26-2013 by Res. No. 2013-32]
[1] 
If the application seeks a special exception application under § 230-21.1C(4) of the Code: $600.
[2] 
If the application relates to a residential use in the DG Zone: $600.
[3] 
In all other cases: $800.
(7) 
Filing fee for any application for a change in zoning:
(a) 
Where the change is to OS&R, HR, R-1 or R-2: $600 for the first five acres or part thereof; $30 for each additional acre or part thereof.
(b) 
Where the change is to R-3 or RC: $800 for the first five acres or part thereof; $50 for each additional acre or part thereof.
(c) 
Where the change is to SC, LIO or I: $1,600 for the first five acres or part thereof; $50 for each additional acre or part thereof.
(d) 
Where the change is to DG: $800 for the first five acres or part thereof; $50 for each additional acre or part thereof.
[Added 9-26-2013 by Res. No. 2013-32]
B. 
Fees for all permit reviews and filings shall be waived for the following: New Castle Historical Society, Historical Society of Delaware, Trustees of New Castle Common, Goodwill Fire Company, Board of Water and Light and other public utilities, The Mayor and Council of New Castle, New Castle County and the State of Delaware.
[Amended 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20]
A. 
The following shall be the schedule of the fees and charges under the regulation of Subdivision and Land Development in the City of New Castle:
(1) 
Major subdivision/land development plans for single-family detached residential development:
[Amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34]
(a) 
Filing fee: $500.
(b) 
Review fee:
[1] 
Zero to 19 lots: $200, plus $100 per lot.
[2] 
Twenty to 99 lots: $300, plus $100 per lot.
[3] 
One hundred or more lots: $450, plus $100 per lot.
(2) 
Major subdivision/land development plans for residential (multifamily group, two-family):
[Amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34]
(a) 
Filing fee: $500.
(b) 
Review fee:
[1] 
Zero to 19 dwelling units: $200, plus $50 per dwelling unit.
[2] 
Twenty to 99 dwelling units: $300, plus $50 per dwelling unit.
[3] 
One hundred or more dwelling units: $500, plus $50 per dwelling unit.
(3) 
Major subdivision/land development plans for nonresidential development plans:
[Amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34]
(a) 
Filing fee: $1,000.
(b) 
Review fee:
[1] 
Zero to 4.99 acres: $1,000.
[2] 
Five to 19.99 acres: $2,000.
[3] 
Twenty to 49.99 acres: $3,500.
[4] 
Fifty to 99.99 acres: $5,000.
[5] 
One hundred plus acres: $7,500.
(4) 
Minor subdivision, minor land development and resubdivision plans for residential development:
(a) 
Filing fee: $200.
(b) 
Review fee: $10 per lot.
(5) 
Minor subdivision, minor land development and resubdivision plans for nonresidential land development:
(a) 
Filing fee: $200.
(b) 
Review fee: $30 per 1,000 square feet of gross leasable floor area.
(6) 
Minor subdivision, minor land development and resubdivision plans for nonresidential land development:
(a) 
Filing fee: $200.
(b) 
Review fee: $10 per lot.
(7) 
Appeals from any finding, decision or recommendation of the Planning Commission or Code Official regarding an application or interpretation of the subdivision and land development:
(a) 
Filing fee: $1,000.
B. 
Fees for subdivision and land development shall be waived for the following: The Mayor and Council of New Castle, the Municipal Services Commission.
The following fees shall be charged pursuant to the referenced Code section.
Chapter
Type
Fee
Ch. 90, Alcoholic Beverages
[Added 4-8-2014 by Res. No. 2014-22]
§ 90-3D
Application fee for permit for sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages on public property
$100
Towing fee assessed jointly and severally against the owner of the towed vehicle and the towing company for any vehicle towed pursuant to lawful authority in the City
$65
Ch. 102, Building Construction
See § A239-2
Ch. 130, Floodplain Management
See § A239-2
Ch. 140, Housing and Property Maintenance
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20; amended 7-13-2010 by Res. No. 2010-18; 5-10-2011 by Res. No. 2011-19]
§ 140-12
Excessive consumption of inspection fee
$200
§ 140-13
Administrative fee for abatement of unsafe conditions, infestation of vermin and rodents and demolition of dangerous structures
$100
§ 140-15
Placement of temporary storage unit
Permit obtained in advance of unit being placed
$25
Permit obtained after placement of unit
$50
§ 140-16
Maintenance of unused or unoccupied property: administrative fee for removal or abated of violations of maintenance
$100
§ 140-37
Rental housing business license, per dwelling unit
$50
§ 140-38
Application for rental housing business license, per dwelling unit
$50
§ 140-39
Rental inspections
Initial inspection
Included in rental housing permit fee
Additional inspection to assure compliance
$20
Ch. 156, Licenses
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20; amended 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34; 10-8-2019 by Res. No. 2019-39[1]]
§ 156-5
Business license
1 to 3 employees
$50 per year
4 to 8 employees
$90 per year
9 to 20 employees
$210 per year
21 or more employees
$360 per year
Vendor license
$100 annually
Rental license
$75 per unit, annually. Includes initial inspection at time of application $50 each subsequent inspection to ensure Code compliance
Ch. 162, Mechanical Standards
See § A239-2
Ch. 171, Parades and Public Assemblies
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20; amended 4-8-2014 by Res. No. 2014-23]
§ 171-5
For residents, businesses licensed in New Castle and all nonprofits
$25, plus the actual cost of providing any requested City services
All others
$50, plus the actual cost of providing any requested City services
For City, state or federal government-sponsored/co-sponsored events
No fee
Ch. 172, Parking § 172-2B(3)(c)
Permit for parking of recreational vehicle on public or private highway in a residential district on a temporary basis
$25
Parks and Recreation
Membership fees 1 child per family 2 children per family 3 or more children per family
$8 $12 $16
Ch. 177, Peddling and Soliciting § 177-2
Registration fee
$50 for the period expiring 30 days after the date of said registration
Ch. 181, Plumbing
See § A239-2
Ch. 204, Solid Waste
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20; amended 10-10-2017 by Res. No. 2017-36; 10-2-2019 by Res. No. 2019-34]
§ 204-6
Special trash pickup fees
Air Conditioner, window unit
$35
Barbeque grill (charcoal)
$25
Barbeque grill (gas, no propane tanks)
$35
Bathroom vanity with sink
$35
Bathroom vanity without sink
$25
Bathtub, fiberglass
$25
Bathtub, cast iron
$75
Bed frame, twin or double
$25
Bedframe, king or queen
$35
Carpet (per room, cut to 4-foot bundles)
$20
Chair, dining or accessory chair
$15 each or $25 (pair)
Chair, upholstered
$30
Chair, recliner
$35
Construction debris
Written quote required
Desk, child size to 4 feet wide
$25
Desk, large (over 4 feet wide)
$35
Dishwasher
$40
Dresser
$25
Dryer
$40
Hot water heater
$40
Mattress/box spring combo (twin/double)
$25
Mattress/box spring combo (king/queen)
$35
Microwave
Written quote required.
Mirror (framed/unframed)
$15
Push mower (drained of fluids)
$25
Refrigerator, large
$50
Refrigerator, small, dorm sized
$25
Screen door
Written quote required.
Sofa, up to 6 feet long
$35
Sofa, over 6 feet long/sectional
$40
Sofa, fold out sleeper
$40
Stove/oven
$45
Television, in cabinet/console
$35
Television, analog or projection unit
$35
Television, flat screen 35 inches or less
$25
Television, flat screen over 35 inches
$30
Tire
Written quote required
Toilet/bidet
$25
Washing machine, top load
$45
Washing machine, front load
$50
Other miscellaneous household items:
Written quote required.
Ch. 213, Subdivision of Land
See § A239-3
Ch. 225, Vehicles and Traffic
[Added 4-12-2011 by Res. No. 2011-14]
Pedicabs
Pedicab owner's license
$20, plus $10 for each vehicle
Pedicab operator's license
$10
Ch. 226, Vehicles, Abandoned
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20]
§ 226-5
Permit fee, per month
$10
Ch. 230, Zoning
[Amended 11-14-2017 by Res. No. 2017-35]
§ 230-15
See §§ A239-2 and A239-3
Telecommunications facilities
Annual license per carrier/per location
$250
Ch. A242, Records, Public Access to
[Added 9-8-2009 by Res. No. 2009-20; amended 7-17-2012 by Res. No. 2012-21]
See § A242-4, Fees.
[1]
Editor’s Note: This resolution also provided that, notwithstanding the fee schedule, 1) the business license fee requirement shall be waived for the first 12 months of operation for any business newly established in an existing building located in that portion of the City designated as a Downtown Development District, pursuant to 22 Del. C. § 1901 et seq.; 2) the business license fee requirement shall be waived for the first 36 months of operation for any business newly established in a building newly constructed for purposes of housing that business and located in that portion of the City designated as a Downtown Development District, pursuant to 22 Del. C. § 1901 et seq.; and 3) the business license fee waivers described in items 1) and 2) above shall remain valid for only so long as the City’s DDD program remains certified by the State of Delaware.