City of Monroe, WI
Green County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents

§ 9-3-1 Use of forfeiture classes.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
When a forfeiture in this code is set out as a forfeiture of a certain class, the forfeiture shall be as set forth in this chapter.

§ 9-3-2 Definitions.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
In this chapter:
ADULT
Means any person who has attained 17 years of age as defined in section 938.02(1) of the Wisconsin statutes.
JUVENILE
Means any person who has not attained 17 years of age as defined in section 938.02(10m) of the Wisconsin statutes.

§ 9-3-3 Class 1 forfeiture.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
Any adult or juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 1 forfeiture shall be subject to a forfeiture of not less than $200.00 nor more than $500.00. Any adult or juvenile who has attained 14 years of age shall also be subject to applicable costs.

§ 9-3-4 Class 2 forfeiture.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
Any adult or juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 2 forfeiture shall be subject to a forfeiture of not less than $100.00 nor more than $300.00. Any adult or juvenile who has attained 14 years of age shall also be subject to applicable costs.

§ 9-3-5 Class 3 forfeiture.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
Any adult or juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 3 forfeiture shall be subject to a forfeiture of not less than $50.00 nor more than $200.00. Any adult or juvenile who has attained 14 years of age shall also be subject to applicable costs.

§ 9-3-6 Class 4 forfeiture.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
Any adult or juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 4 forfeiture shall be subject to a forfeiture of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00. Any adult or juvenile who has attained 14 years of age shall also be subject to applicable costs.

§ 9-3-7 Class 5 forfeiture.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
Any adult or juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 5 forfeiture shall be subject to a forfeiture of not less than $10.00 nor more than $50.00. Any adult or juvenile who has attained 14 years of age shall also be subject to applicable costs.

§ 9-3-8 Deposit schedule.

[4-15-1997; 1-3-2006; 2016 Code]
(A) 
Any person arrested for a violation of this code may make a deposit of money as directed by the officer making the arrest at the police station or the office of the clerk of court or by mailing the deposit to such places. The arresting officer or the person receiving the deposit shall notify the arrested person, orally or in writing, that:
(1) 
If the person makes a deposit as authorized by this section, the person need not appear in court at the time fixed in the citation and the person shall be considered to have tendered a plea of no contest and submitted to a forfeiture and any penalty assessment, jail assessment or other fee or assessment required by law, not to exceed the amount of the deposit.
(2) 
If the person fails to make a deposit as authorized by this section or appear in court at the time fixed in the citation, the court may enter a default judgment finding the person guilty of the offense or issue a warrant for his or her arrest.
(B) 
The amount of the deposit shall be determined as follows:
(1) 
The deposit for offenses listed in a deposit schedule established by the Wisconsin judicial conference shall be the amount set forth in the most recent schedule established by the Wisconsin judicial conference.
(2) 
The deposit for offenses not listed in a deposit schedule established by the Wisconsin judicial conference shall be an amount established from time to time by resolution of the council.
(3) 
If a deposit amount has not been established by either the Wisconsin judicial conference or the judiciary and ordinance review committee, the arresting officer shall require the alleged offender to deposit not less than the maximum forfeiture permitted under this code plus any penalty assessment, jail assessment or other fee or assessment required by law.

§ 9-3-9 Alternative sentences.

[4-15-1997; 2016 Code]
(A) 
Any adult who fails to pay a class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, or class 5 forfeiture imposed by this chapter shall be subject to the alternative sentencing provisions set forth in sections 800.09 and 800.095 of the Wisconsin statutes.
(B) 
Any juvenile who fails to pay a class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, or class 5 forfeiture imposed by this chapter shall be subject to the provisions set forth in section 938.343(2) of the Wisconsin statutes.
(C) 
Any juvenile who violates a code punishable by a class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, or class 5 forfeiture may be ordered to perform community service as provided in section 938.343(3) and defined in section 938.34(5g) of the Wisconsin statutes, or any other disposition available under section 938.343 or 938.344 of the Wisconsin statutes, in addition to or in lieu of a forfeiture.
(D) 
Any adult who violates a code punishable by a class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, or class 5 forfeiture may be ordered to perform community service in addition to or in lieu of a forfeiture.