City of Rensselaer, NY
Rensselaer County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Rensselaer 12-15-1976. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Environmental quality review — See Ch. 93.
Flood damage prevention — See Ch. 105.
Subdivision of land — See Ch. 149.
Zoning — See Ch. 179.
Pursuant to General Municipal Law, Article 12-A, and acts amendatory thereof, a commission, to be known as the "Rensselaer Planning Commission," is hereby created.
The Commission shall consist of seven members, each of whom is to be a resident of the City of Rensselaer.
The members of said Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City of Rensselaer, and each member so appointed shall be appointed for a period of three years, except as herein otherwise provided. For the first year, the Mayor of the City of Rensselaer shall appoint three members for terms of three years, two members for terms of two years and two members for terms of one year, and, at the expiration of any such term, their successors shall be appointed for full terms of three years. Any vacancies occurring shall be filled by the appointment of the Mayor for the unexpired term.
The Commission shall annually elect a Chairman from its own members. It shall have full power and authority to employ experts, clerks and a secretary and shall pay for the services of said experts and clerks and such other expenses as may be necessary and proper, not exceeding, in all, the annual appropriation that may be made by the City of Rensselaer for said Commission. Said Commission shall be vested with such powers and authority and have such duties as are defined in Article 12-A of the General Municipal Law.