[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Borough of Runnemede 4-21-1965 (Ch. 118 of the 1970 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
A code regulating retail food-handling establishments, providing for the inspection of such establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 26:3-69.6. A copy of said code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1952)."
Three copies of the said Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1952) have been placed on file in the office of the Secretary of this local Board of Health upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file there until final action is taken on this chapter, for the use and examination of the public.
No person shall operate a retail food-handling establishment unless a license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license to operate the same shall have been issued by this Board of Health. Such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
There shall be a charge of $10 for such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license.
Licenses issued or approved under the provisions of this chapter shall expire annually on the first day of July of each year, and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted, together with the required fee, prior to the first day of June of each year.
A person conducting an itinerant retail food-handling establishment shall secure a license, or if such person is the holder of a certificate, permit or license issued by the Board of Health of another jurisdiction, said certificate, permit or license shall be approved by this Board of Health and there shall be a fee of $10 charged for such approval.
A license or approval of certificate, permit or license may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this chapter or code, after an opportunity for a hearing by the Board of Health or its authorized representative.
A license or approval of a certificate, permit or license issued by another Board of Health is not transferable.
[Added 7-7-2009 by Ord. No. 09-15]
The basic fee to be paid by vendors participating in the Runnemede Farmers Market shall be $25 per week per vendor plus an application fee of $10.
The fee shall be collected on a weekly basis by the farmers market coordinator and submitted to the Clerk.
[Amended 3-17-1970 by Ord. No. 238]
Any person who violates any provision of or order promulgated under this chapter or code established herein shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a penalty of not more than $500 for each violation. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.