[HISTORY: Adopted by the Borough Council of the Borough of Canonsburg 9-15-2003 by Ord. No. 1250. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Police Department — See Ch. 45.
No person shall engage in the operation of a pawnshop or secondhand shop without first obtaining a license from the Borough of Canonsburg.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- PAWNSHOP or SECONDHAND DEALER
- A person who either wholly or partly engages in or operates in the trade or business of buying and selling used goods, including but not limited to precious stones, precious metals, jewelry, tools, electrical devices, fixtures, appliances, automobile accessories, tires, household goods, firearms, coins, trading cards and all other used items that are purchased, salvaged, traded or received from any person.
Every pawnshop operator or dealer or secondhand dealer shall keep a book legibly written in the English language at the time of acquiring articles in the course of business, which book shall contain the following information:
An accurate description of the article purchased,
The name and address of the person selling the article or leaving the article for a loan. The identity of the person selling the article shall be verified by the production of a Pennsylvania photo driver's license, Pennsylvania photo identification card or other similar photo identification card.
The name and address of the person buying the article.
The pawnshop operator, dealer or secondhand dealer shall provide copies of all sales transactions and loan transactions to the local Chief of Police. Copies of all sales transactions and loan transactions shall be provided to the Chief of Police on a weekly basis.
No dealer under this chapter shall sell or dispose of, in any way, until 30 days after purchase, any of the following secondhand articles or goods: precious stones, coins, jewelry, watches, old gold, silver, platinum or other precious metals or similar articles. No dealer shall sell or dispose of in any way any other secondhand articles or goods until seven days after purchase of the same.
No dealer under this chapter shall purchase any article from any person under 18 years of age.
If any dealer is convicted of robbery, burglary, larceny, receiving stolen property and any other crime involving the unlawful obtaining of personal property, the license mentioned in § 124-1 shall be revoked.
The fee for issuance of a license under this chapter shall be $100 due on or before January 1 or each year.
This chapter shall in no way supersede any state or federal regulations governing these same items.
Any person, association, partnership or corporation who violates any provision of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or a jail sentence up to three days.