[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Fulton as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Recreational vehicles — See Ch. 613.
[Adopted 5-19-1992 (Ch. 100, Art. I, of the 1991 Code)]
When employees are not busy, they should be responsible for light maintenance work, such as cleaning bathrooms, weeding lawns and general housekeeping of the area.
Training. Employees should receive a one- or two-day orientation of what is expected of them on the job, including instructions on how to tie up a boat, etc.
Seasonal. Seasonal fees shall be as follows: $25 per foot for boats owned by City residents; $30 per foot for boats owned by nonresidents. There is an additional charge of $0.75 per foot for water and sewer and electric.
Daily. Daily fees shall be as follows: $0.50 per foot without water and power; $0.75 per foot with water and power.
Payment of seasonal fees; permit procedure.
The seasonal fee for residents and nonresidents must be paid in advance by mail or in person to the Clerk/Chamberlain's office.
[Amended 12-1-2009 by L.L. No. 6-2009]
The suggested format for accepting seasonal permits is as follows:
An ad shall be published in the local newspaper(s) as follows: "Seasonal permits available for the Fulton Marina on the Oswego River. For application, write to or apply in person at the Clerk/Chamberlain's office, City of Fulton, 141 South First Street, Fulton, New York. $25 per foot for residents; and $30 per foot for nonresidents."
[Amended 12-1-2009 by L.L. No. 6-2009]
Applicants must bring in their proof of boater registration (registration has boat size on it) with their seasonal check.
Payment of daily fees; issuance of permits.
Permits should be distributed upon arrival. Boaters should be advised that fees are payable at 6:00 p.m. each evening. This is the most effective way to ensure that only boaters who stay overnight are assessed the fee.
Fees can be collected by the staff, using carbon, numbered receipts so that there is a checks-and-balance system, or be made payable at the Lock III Restaurant.
Enforcement can be done by having the staff check which boaters have permits the first thing each morning.
If the Lock III Restaurant is going to issue permits, appropriate signage should be posted, as follows: "Overnight permits (6:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m.) available in the Lock III Restaurant."
Signage. There is a sign notifying boaters that there is a fee charged; however, it should be clearer than the current signage. The sign in place states "MARINA: BY PERMIT ONLY (arrow) 598-4504 for permit." This sign is misleading because this gives the impression that people must have a presold permit. The new signage could state: "WELCOME TO FULTON: Overnight Docking $_____."
[Adopted 6-19-2001 by L.L. No. 7-2001 (Ch. 171 of the 1991 Code)]
The Council hereby recognizes and finds that the boat traffic on the Oswego River within the City creates problems, including bank erosion, which have significant effects on property along the river. The Council further finds that this legislation will promote the safety of the people of this City and will be in the best interests of this City.
This legislation is authorized by § 46 of the New York State Navigation Law.
There is hereby established a Vessel Regulation Zone on the Oswego River within the corporate limits of this City. Said zone shall extend 1,000 feet from both the east and west shorelines measured from the low-water mark. Vessels traveling within or through said zone shall leave no damaging wake.
In accordance with New York State Navigation Law § 73-b, a violation of § 247-4 of this article shall be a misdemeanor, and every person convicted thereof shall, for a first conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $250 or by a period of imprisonment of not more than 15 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment; for a conviction of a second violation, both of which were committed within a period of 24 months, such person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $350 or by a period of imprisonment of not more than 45 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment; upon a conviction of a third or subsequent violation, all of which were committed within a period of 24 months, such person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $750 or by a period of imprisonment of not more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.