Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us daily between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Township of Fredon, NJ
Sussex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Fredon 6-5-1972 (Ch. VI of the 1972 Revised General Ordinances). Amendments noted where applicable.]
This chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Township of Fredon in accordance with the provisions of the Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages," comprising Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933, its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
For the purpose of this chapter, words and phrases herein shall have the same meanings as in N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
A. 
Laws applicable. All applications for licenses, all licenses issued and all proceedings under this chapter shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in § 119-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or the United States.
B. 
Issuing authority. All licenses required by this chapter shall be issued by the Township Committee, which shall also administer the provisions of this chapter.
C. 
License required. No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Township without having obtained a license in accordance with the act referred to in § 119-1 and the provisions of this chapter.
D. 
License fee: maximum number.
[Amended by Ord. No. 4-84; Ord. No. 2003-01]
(1) 
The fee for each year listed and maximum number of licenses for the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Township shall be as follows:
[Amended 12-10-2015 by Ord. No. 2015-06]
Plenary Retail Consumption License
Maximum number of licenses: 5
Year
Fee
2003
$480
2004
$576
2005
$691
2006
$829
2007
$994
2068
$1,192
2009
$1,430
2010
$1,716
2011 and thereafter
$2,000
Plenary Retail Distribution License
Maximum number of licenses: 1
Year
Fee
2003
$750
2004
$900
2005
$1,080
2006
$1,296
2007
$1,555
2008
$1,866
2009 and thereafter
$2,000
Club License
Maximum number of licenses: 1
2015 and thereafter
$188
(2) 
The provisions of this subsection with respect to the limitations on the number of licenses shall not apply to the renewal or transfer of licenses presently issued.
A. 
Hours of sale. No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, delivered or served to or consumed in any licensed premises on any day between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m., except Sundays and New Year's Day each year as hereinafter provided.
B. 
Sundays.
[Added by Ord. No. 5-81]
(1) 
The provisions of Subsection A shall not apply on Sundays. On Sundays, no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon.
(2) 
There shall be no sale by any licensee of distilled spirit products in original containers for off-premises consumption on any Sunday.
C. 
New Year's Day. Provisions of Subsection A shall not apply on January 1. On that day, no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m., unless January 1 is a Sunday, in which case no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon.
D. 
Sales to certain persons. No licensee or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any habitual drunkard, intoxicated person or minor, nor permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above-named classes of persons or permit any such persons to congregate on or about the licensed premises.
[Added by Ord. No. 2005-07]
A. 
Presence. No minor shall be allowed in any premises where alcoholic beverages are sold or served for consumption on the premises unless accompanied by his or her parent or guardian.
B. 
Purchase of alcoholic beverages by someone under legal age. No person under the legal age to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages shall purchase, attempt to purchase or have another purchase for him or her any alcoholic beverages on any premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.
C. 
Purchase of alcoholic beverages for someone under legal age. No person shall purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic beverages for someone under the legal age to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages. It shall be unlawful for any person to induce or attempt to induce any licensee or any employee of a licensee to sell, serve or deliver alcoholic beverages to a person who is under the legal age to consume such beverages.
D. 
Misstating age. No person shall misrepresent his or her age or the age of another person for the purpose of inducing any licensee or an employee thereof to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverages to a person under the legal age to consume such beverages, or to permit a minor to remain on any premises in violation of Subsection A.
E. 
Presumption. Any parent or guardian of a minor who accompanies such minor into a premises in which alcoholic beverages are served and who permits the minor to possess or consume alcoholic beverages shall be presumed to have misrepresented the age of the minor.
F. 
Possession. No person under legal age to consume alcoholic beverages shall possess, serve, sell or consume any alcoholic beverage in any public place within the Township.
G. 
Consumption or possession prohibited on private property. The consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages of any type on private property by a person who is under the legal age and without legal authority is prohibited.
(1) 
The provisions of this Subsection G shall not prohibit any underage person from consuming or possessing an alcoholic beverage in connection with a religious observance, ceremony or rite, or consuming or possessing an alcoholic beverage in the presence of and with the permission of a parent, guardian or relative who has attained the legal age to purchase and consume alcoholic beverages. "Guardian" means a person who has qualified as a guardian pursuant to testamentary or court appointment. "Relative" means the underage person's grandparent, aunt or uncle, sibling or any other person related by blood or affinity.
(2) 
The provisions of this Subsection G as to underaged possession of alcoholic beverages shall not apply to any such person while actually engaged in the performance of employment by a person who is licensed under Title 33 of the New Jersey Statutes, or while actively engaged in the preparation of food while enrolled in a culinary arts or hotel management program at a county vocational school or postsecondary educational institution.
(3) 
This subsection shall not be construed to preclude the imposition of a penalty under N.J.S.A. 33:1-81, or any other section of law, against a person who is convicted of unlawful alcoholic beverage activities on or at premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.
H. 
Penalties. Any person who shall violate any provision of Subsection G shall be subject to a fine of $250 for the first offense and $350 for any subsequent offense. Upon conviction, the court may, in addition to the fine, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privileges of the violator.
(1) 
In the event a driver's license is suspended, the court shall forward a report to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this subsection. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years. If a person, at the time of the imposition of a sentence, has a valid driver's license issued by this state, the court shall immediately collect the license and forward it to the MVC along with the report. If for any reason the license cannot be collected, the court shall include in the report the complete name, address, date of birth, eye color and gender of the person, as well as the first and last day of the license suspension period imposed by the court. The court shall also inform the person orally and in writing that if the person is convicted of operating a motor vehicle during the period of license suspension or postponement, that person shall be subject to the penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. A person shall be required to acknowledge receipt of the written notice in writing. Failure to receive a written notice shall not be a defense to a subsequent charge of a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.
(2) 
If the person convicted under this subsection is not a New Jersey resident, the court shall suspend or postpone, as appropriate, the nonresident driving privilege of the person based on the age of the person and submit to the MVC the required report. The court shall not collect the license of a nonresident convicted under this section. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:48-1.2, upon receipt of a report by the court, the MVC shall notify the appropriate officials in the licensing jurisdiction of the suspension or postponement.
A. 
Any license issued under this chapter may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or any provisions of any applicable statute or any of the rules or regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
B. 
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-31 by service of a five-day notice of charges preferred against the licensee and affording a reasonable opportunity for hearing.
C. 
Suspension or revocation of a license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of this chapter.