City of Haverhill, MA
Essex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 10-4-2011 by Doc. 91]
There is hereby established a Public Safety Department, which shall have and exercise all the powers and duties, as herein conferred by this article and imposed by general law, to administer and coordinate all matters relating to the public safety of all citizens and property located within the City of Haverhill.
The Mayor may appoint either the Chief of the Police or Fire Department as the Commissioner of the Public Safety Department, who shall hold office and serve at the pleasure of the Mayor. Whichever Chief is not selected as Commissioner of the Public Safety Department shall report directly to the Commissioner.
The Public Safety Department shall consist of a Commissioner, who shall have all the powers, duties and authority of the Police Chief and the Fire Chief within the City of Haverhill. The Commissioner shall exercise full and complete control and supervision over the following City departments:
Emergency Management;
Fire Department;
Police Department; and
Unified Public Safety Dispatch Center.
Should any of the provisions of this article or any rules or regulations adopted pursuant hereto be found to be in conflict with the provisions of any existing ordinance, resolution, rule, regulation or code of the City of Haverhill, the provisions of this article shall apply.