Town of Marion, MA
Plymouth County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[Adopted as Art. XXVII of the Bylaws]
There shall be an Open Space Acquisition Commission consisting of five members. At the initial election of Commission members, one candidate shall be elected for a term of one year, two shall be elected for terms of two years, two shall be elected for terms of three years, and all subsequent terms shall be for periods of three years.
The Commission shall have the powers of a Conservation Commission with respect to the acquisition of interests in land and the expenditure of funds under the provisions of MGL c. 40, § 8C. The Commission shall also have the power to hire staff and professional services to perform its duties.
The Commission shall meet its financial obligations by:
Drawing upon an open space fund that is funded by a property tax surcharge;
Appropriations voted at Town Meeting; and
Gifts made to the fund in cash or other negotiable securities.