Township of Piscataway, NJ
Middlesex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[1972 Code § 8-1]
This chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Township of Piscataway in accordance with the provisions of an Act of Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages" (Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933), its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq. ("the Act"), and in accordance with the Rules and Regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1972 Code § 8-2]
For the purpose of this chapter, the words and phrases herein shall have the same meaning as N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the Rules and Regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1972 Code § 8-3.1]
All applications for licenses, all licenses issued, and all proceedings under this chapter shall be in accordance with the Act, Rules and Regulations referred to in Section 6-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or of the United States.
[1972 Code § 8-3.2]
All licenses required by this chapter shall be issued by the Governing Body, which shall also administer the provisions of this chapter.
[1972 Code § 8-3.3]
No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Township without having obtained a license in accordance with the Act referred to in Section 6-1 and the provisions of this chapter.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: See also Section 3-12, Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages on Board of Education Property.
[1972 Code § 8-3.4; Ord. No. 04-28; New; Ord. No. 06-47; Ord. No. 13-28]
The annual license fees of licenses for the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Township shall be as follows:
Class of License
Annual License Fee
Number of Licenses
Plenary retail consumption license
$2,500
18
Plenary retail distribution license
$2,500
4
Club license
$188
(N.J.S.A. 33:1-12)
3
The provisions of this subsection with respect to the limitation on the number of licenses shall not apply to the renewal or transfer of licenses presently issued.
[1972 Code § 8-4.1]
No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, served, consumed or delivered to any consumer in or from any licensed premises on any day between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m., except Sunday and New Year's Day each year as hereinafter provided.
[1972 Code § 8-4.2; Ord. No. 08-34 § 8-4.2]
Provisions of subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on Sunday. On that day, no alcoholic beverages may be served, consumed in or delivered to a licensed premises between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m.; and no alcoholic beverages may be sold for off-premises consumption between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m.
[1972 Code § 8-4.3]
Provisions of subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on January 1 when that day falls on a weekday. On that day no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, consumed or delivered in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. When New Year's Day falls on a Sunday, no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served, consumed or delivered in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m.
[1972 Code § 8-4; New]
During the hours when sale of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, the entire licensed premises shall also be closed and no person shall be admitted or permitted to remain with the following exceptions.
a. 
With respect to each hour above-mentioned as the time when sale, service, delivery and consumption shall cease, there shall be an additional 15 minutes in which patrons shall depart the premises and in which the licensee shall clean and close the same. Upon the expiration of the additional 15 minutes, the entire licensed premises shall be vacated by all except the licensee, his agents, servants or employees, and closed and shall remain closed until the hour above-designated as the time when sales, service or delivery may be resumed.
b. 
This closing of premises requirement shall not apply to bona fide hotels, to restaurants as defined in N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 (t), or to clubs as set forth in N.J.S.A. 33:1-12(5) and State Regulation No. 7.
[1972 Code § 8-7.1]
No license or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any intoxicated person or person under the legal age, or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above-named persons.
[1972 Code § 8-5]
No person shall be served alcoholic beverages in any room which is not open to the public. This section shall not apply to club licenses.
[1972 Code § 8-8]
Any license issued under this chapter may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or any provision of any applicable Statute or any of the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-31 by service of a five day notice of charges preferred against the licensee and affording a reasonable opportunity for hearing.
Suspension or revocation of the license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of the provision of this chapter.
[New]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage, directly or indirectly, to any person under the legal age.
[1972 Code § 8-7]
It shall be unlawful for a person under the legal age to enter any premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing, or having served or delivered to him or her, any alcoholic beverage.
[1972 Code § 8-7]
No person under the legal age shall purchase, attempt to purchase, or have another purchase for him any alcoholic beverage on any premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.
[N.J.S.A. 33:1-81]
No person shall purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic beverages for a person under the legal age. It shall be unlawful for any person to induce or attempt to induce any licensee or any employee of a licensee to sell, serve or deliver alcoholic beverages to a person under the legal age.
[1972 Code § 8-7]
No person shall misrepresent his age or the age of another person for the purpose of inducing any licensee or his employee to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age or to permit a person under the legal age to remain on any premises in violation of subsection 6-6.2.
[N.J.S.A. 33:1-81]
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this section shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person, and upon conviction thereof and in accordance with N.J.S.A. 33:1-81, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500. In addition, the Court shall suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle for six months or prohibit the person from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for six months beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the date of conviction, whichever is later. In addition to the general penalty prescribed for an offense, the Court may require any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who violates this act to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program authorized by the Department of Health for a period not to exceed the maximum period of confinement prescribed by law for the offense for which the individual has been convicted.
[Ord. No. 2015-28]
a. 
All licensees shall attend all mandatory liquor license training seminars required by the Township. If the license is in the name of an entity other than an individual person, a person or persons must be designated to attend the seminar on behalf of the licensee. This designee must have the authority to set, implement or change the licensee's practices for selling and serving alcohol (Plenary retail consumption license "32" & "33", Plenary retail distribution license "44", Hotel/Motel license "36" and Club license "31"). This designee must complete and pass the above referenced Township approved server education class:
1. 
Within 90 days of beginning employment, and
2. 
Every three years thereafter unless probationary extension is granted for hardship reason.
b. 
All persons licensed under Township Ordinance who are engaged in the selling or serving of alcoholic beverages or the managing thereof, shall complete a Township-approved server education class. All licensees shall require all their employees who are engaged in the selling or serving of alcoholic beverages or the managing thereof to complete and pass the above referenced Township approved server education class:
1. 
Within 90 days of beginning employment, and
2. 
Every three years thereafter unless probationary extension is granted for hardship reason.
c. 
No licensed premises in which alcoholic beverages are sold by the drink on the licensed premises shall allow any server employed over 90 days to sell, dispense or service any alcoholic beverage or malt beverage or to manage any such licensed premises unless that server is the holder of a current server certification.
d. 
Each such licensed premises shall maintain a file at the licensed premises for each server for whom training is required. The file shall contain the name, job description, date of employment and proof of certification of each server regulated by this section. This information shall be available at any reasonable time to any Alcoholic Beverage Control Officer, any Police Officer or the Township Clerk.
e. 
For all special events, including all fairs, festivals and events of the like the chairperson of same must provide a list of all servers to the Township's Alcohol Beverage Control Officials no later than 15 days prior to the event. Additionally, there must be at least three members of the event staff trained and certified that will be in attendance at all times for the duration of the event. Any server working at a special event for which a temporary alcoholic beverage license has been approved shall not be required to comply with this section.
f. 
Any person who violates any provision of the mandatory education requirements set forth, shall be guilty and shall, for the first offense, be fined not less than $100 and not more than $200, and each subsequent violation, shall be fined not less than $200 and not more than $500.