Borough of Avon-by-the-Sea, NJ
Monmouth County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the Borough of Avon-by-the-Sea 2-23-77 by Ord. No. 2-1977. Amendments noted where applicable.]
A. 
There is hereby established in the Borough of Avon-by-the-Sea a State Uniform Construction Code enforcing agency to be known as the "Avon Code Enforcement Agency," consisting of a Construction Official, Building Subcode Official, Plumbing Subcode Official, Electrical Subcode Official, Fire Protection Subcode Official and such other subcode officials for such additional subcodes as the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs, State of New Jersey, shall hereafter adopt as part of the State Uniform Construction Code. The Construction Official shall be chief administrator of the enforcing agency.
B. 
Each official position created in Subsection A hereof shall be filled by a person qualified for such position pursuant to P.L. 1975, c. 217, as amended,[1] and N.J.A.C. 5:23, provided that, in lieu of any particular subcode official, an on-site inspection agency may be retained by contract pursuant to N.J.A.C. 5:23. More than one (1) such official position may be held by the same person, provided that such person is qualified pursuant to P.L. 1975, c. 217, and N.J.A.C. 5:23 to hold each such position.
[1]
Editor's Note: See N.J.S.A. 52:27D-119 et seq.
C. 
The public shall have the right to do business with the enforcing agency at one (1) office location, except for emergencies and unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances.
[Added 1-27-86 by Ord. No. 1-1986]
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.23(c), the owner of any existing building shall, prior to any transfer of ownership thereof, request the issuance of a certificate of continued occupancy. Failure to so request shall constitute a violation of the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code, N.J.A.C. 5:23, and shall subject the violator to the penalties provided therein.
[Added 5-11-87 by Ord. No. 4-1987; amended 4-22-91 by Ord. No. 8-1991; 3-11-96 by Ord. No. 1-1996; 12-22-97 by Ord. No. 30-1997]
A. 
Plan review. The minimum fee shall be twenty percent (20%) of construction fee for a permit. Plan review fees are not refundable.
B. 
New construction fees.
[Amended 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004]
(1) 
The new construction fees shall be based on the cubic foot of volume of the building or structure. The amount of .027 dollars times cubic feet in volume.
(2) 
The enforcing agency shall collect a surcharge fee based on the volume of the building or structure which shall be forwarded to the Bureau of Housing Inspections in the manner provided by the regulations. The surcharge fee is according to the schedule provided by the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs.
C. 
Alterations, renovations and repairs.
(1) 
These fees shall be as follows:
(a) 
Twenty-five dollars ($25) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) or any part thereof.
(b) 
For each additional one thousand dollars ($1,000) or part thereof - twenty-five dollars ($25) additional.
(2) 
New additions to buildings shall be considered the same as new construction. The fee of .027 dollars times the cubic feet of volume of the building or structure. A surcharge fee based on the volume of the building or structure which shall be forwarded to the Bureau of Housing Inspections in the manner provided by the regulations. The surcharge fee is according to the schedule provided by the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs. Alterations will be figured separately and this total along with the new addition fees would be the cost of a permit.
[Amended 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004]
(3) 
Demolition fees for a permit on a one- or two-family dwelling: $65.00
[Amended 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004]
All other buildings: $100.00
(4) 
The fees for a permit on removal of a building from one lot to another or to another location on the same lot:
Twenty dollars ($20) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) for the cost of moving and the additional cost of new foundation, plus all work necessary to put the building in its completed conditions on the new foundation.
(5) 
Minimum fee for building permits shall be forty-six dollars ($46).
[Added 6-28-04 by Ord. No. 13-2004]
D. 
Sign permit fees. The fee for a permit to install a sign shall be two dollars ($2) per square foot.
The minimum fee shall be
$40.00
Two face signs minimum
$60.00
Temporary signs that are for a limited time
$15.00
E. 
Certificate of Occupancy.
[Amended 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004; 10-11-05 by Ord. No. 7-2005]
(1) 
New house: one hundred fifty dollars ($150).
(2) 
Addition: fifty dollars ($50).
F. 
Elevator permit fees. Multiply number of elevators by one hundred fifty dollars ($150). For elevators, escalators and moving walks requiring reinspection every six (6) months, the fee shall be thirty-seven dollars and fifty cents ($37.50) except for each five (5) year inspection and witnessing of tests on elevators, for which the fee shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125). Thirty dollars ($30) to install or inspect an elevator plus the additional expense of a licensed elevator inspector obtained by the Borough.
G. 
Plumbing subcode fees.
[Amended 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004]
(1) 
The fee shall be ten dollars ($10) per fixture connected to the plumbing system for all fixtures and appliances except as listed below.
(2) 
Domestic water heater shall be twenty dollars ($20).
(3) 
The fee shall be sixty-five dollars ($65) per special device for the following:
Sump pump, grease traps, oil separators, water cooled air conditioning units, refrigeration units, utility service connections, backflow preventers, steam boilers, hot water boilers (excluding those for domestic water heating), gas piping, active solar systems, sewer pumps, interceptors, fuel oil piping, and any other device.
(4) 
The minimum fee for plumbing permits shall be forty-six dollars ($46).
H. 
Heating and air conditioning.
(1) 
For new installations, repairs and alterations:
Up to four hundred dollars ($400) the fee shall be
$30.00
From four hundred dollars ($400) to one thousand dollars ($1,000) the fee shall be
$40.00
From one thousand one dollars ($1,001)to two thousand dollars ($2,000) the fee shall be
$45.00
For each additional one thousand dollars ($1,000) the fee shall be
$30.00
I. 
Fees for electrical fixtures and devices are as follows: receptacles or fixtures shall include lighting outlets, wall switches, fluorescent fixtures, convenience receptacle or similar fixture, and motors or devices of less than one (1) horsepower or one (1) kilowatt or less.
[Added 5-17-04 by Ord. No. 11-2004]
(1) 
For one (1) to fifty (50) receptacles or fixtures: $40.00
For each additional twenty-five (25) receptacles or fixtures: $7.00
(2) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than one (1) horsepower and less than or equal to ten (10) horsepower; and transformers and generators greater than one (1) kilowatt and less than or equal to ten (10) kilowatts: $10.00
(3) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than ten (10) horsepower and less than or equal to fifty (50) horsepower; for each service panel, service entrance or subpanel less than or equal to two hundred (200) amperes; and for all transformers and generators greater than ten (10) kilowatts and less than or equal to forty-five (45) kilowatts: $46.00
(4) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than fifty (50) horsepower and less than or equal to one hundred (100) horsepower; for each service panel, service entrance or subpanel greater than two hundred (200) amperes and less than or equal to one thousand (1,000) amperes; and for transformers and generators greater than forty-five (45) kilowatts and less than or equal to one hundred twelve point five (112.5) kilowatts: $100.00
(5) 
For each motor or electrical device greater than one hundred (100) horsepower; for each service panel, service entrance or subpanel greater than one thousand (1,000) amperes; and for each transformer or generator greater than one hundred twelve point five (112.5) kilowatts: $500.00
(6) 
For the purpose of computing these fees, all motors except those in plug-in appliances shall be counted, including control equipment, generators, transformers and all heating, cooking or other devices consuming or generating electrical current.
(7) 
Minimum fee for electrical permits shall be forty-six dollars ($46).
[Added 3-11-1996 by Ord. No. 1-1996]
Fees for fire protection and other hazardous equipment: sprinklers, standpipes, detectors (smoke and heat), pre-engineered suppression systems, gas and oil fired appliances not connected to the plumbing systems, kitchen exhaust systems, incinerators and crematoriums.
A. 
The fee for 20 or fewer heads or detectors $ 65.00
21 to 100 heads or detectors: $120.00
101 to 200 heads or detectors: $229.00
201 to 400 heads or detectors: $594.00
401 to 1,000 heads or detectors: $822.00
Over 1,000 heads or detectors: $1,050.00
In computing fees for heads and detectors, the number of each shall be counted separately and two (2) fees, one (1) for heads and one (1) for detectors, shall be charged.
B. 
The fee for each standpipe: $229.00
C. 
The fee for each independent pre-engineered system: $92.00
D. 
The fee for each gas or oil fired appliance that is not connected to the plumbing system: $46.00
E. 
The fee for each kitchen exhaust system: $46.00
F. 
The fee for each incinerator: $365.00
G. 
The fee for each crematorium: $365.00