Township of Green, NJ
Sussex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[New]
This chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Township of Green in accordance with the provisions of an Act of Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages" (Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933), its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[New]
For the purpose of this chapter, words and phrases herein shall have the same meaning as in N.J.S. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[New]
All applications for licenses, all licenses issued and all proceedings under this chapter shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in Section 6-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or the United States.
[1979 Code § 35-8]
All licenses required by this chapter shall be issued by the Township Committee which shall also administer the provisions of this chapter.
[New]
No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Township without obtaining a license in accordance with the Act referred to in Section 6-1 and the provisions of this chapter, except in those cases provided by law where the licenses in question are issued by the Director of the State Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1979 Code §§ 35-7, 127-1; Ord. No. 4-95 § 1; New; Ord. No. 04-002]
The classes and maximum number of licenses to be issued by the Township Committee are hereby fixed as follows and the annual fees of licenses for the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Township shall be as follows:
Class of Annual License
Number of License Fees
Licenses1
ABC Plenary Retail Consumption License
$570
1
ABC Plenary Retail Distribution License
$172.80
1
ABC Club License
$108
1
Notes:
1.
For State law authorizing the Township to restrict number of licenses to sell alcoholic beverages at retail, see N.J.S.A. 33:1-40.
[1979 Code § 35-2A]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver, or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage on licensed premises on weekdays and weekends between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m., nor shall any licensee suffer, allow or permit the consumption of any alcoholic beverage on any licensed premises on weekdays and weekends after 2:30 a.m.
[1979 Code § 35-2B; New]
Provisions of subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on January 1. On that day alcoholic beverages may not be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
[1979 Code § 35-4; New]
No licensee or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any intoxicated person or person under the legal age, or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above-named persons.
[1979 Code § 35-2C; New]
During the hours when sales of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, the entire licensed premises shall be closed and no person shall be admitted or permitted to remain thereon except the licensee or bona fide employees of the licensee; provided, however, that such requirement for the closing of the premises shall not apply to bona fide hotels or to restaurants as defined in N.J.S. 33:1-1(t) and to clubs eligible for a club license under N.J.S. 33:1-12(5) and to other establishments where the principal business is other than the sale of alcoholic beverages.
[1979 Code § 35-2D]
During the hours when the sale, service, delivery or consumption of alcoholic beverages is prohibited by ordinance now in effect or hereafter adopted by the Township Committee, all licensed premises operating under a club license and restaurants shall keep the room in which alcoholic beverages are kept for sale, commonly known as the "barroom," and all rooms where alcoholic beverages are stored firmly closed and securely locked, and the licensee or any of its employees or any other persons shall not enter or be allowed to enter therein.
[1979 Code § 35-3]
All licensed premises under this chapter where alcoholic beverages are served or dispensed shall comply with the minimum standards of sanitation as promulgated and compiled by the Board of Health of the State of New Jersey, pursuant to legislation enacted with reference to "Establishments and Places Where Food or Drink Is Sold or Distributed in a Manner Other Than in the Same Sealed or Wrapped Packages or Containers in Which It Was Received," and all other applicable statutes and ordinances of the Township of Green.
[1979 Code § 35-5]
All licensed premises under this chapter where alcoholic liquor is served or dispensed shall be subject to the right of inspection by any member of the police force or any member of the Township Committee for the purpose of determining whether all State and local rules, regulations, ordinances and statutes are being complied with.
[1979 Code § 35-9; New]
a. 
Revocation of License. Any license issued under this chapter may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or any provision of any applicable statute or any of the rules or regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
b. 
Proceedings for suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S. 33:1-31 by service of a five-day notice of charges preferred against the licensee and affording a reasonable opportunity for hearing.
c. 
Suspension or revocation of a license shall be in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed for a violation of this chapter.
[New]
No licensee shall sell or serve any alcoholic beverage to persons under the legal age.
[N.J.S.A. 33:1-81]
It shall be unlawful for:
a. 
A person under the legal age for purchasing alcoholic beverages to enter any premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing, or having served or delivered to him or her, any alcoholic beverage; or
b. 
A person under the legal age for purchasing alcoholic beverages to consume any alcoholic beverage on premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages, or to purchase, attempt to purchase or have another purchase for him or her any alcoholic beverage; or
c. 
Any person to enter any premises licensed for retail sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing, or to purchase alcoholic beverages, for another person who does not because of his age have the right to purchase and consume alcoholic beverages.
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this subsection shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person, and upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500. In addition, the court shall suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle for six months or prohibit the person from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for six months beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the date of conviction, whichever is later. In addition to the general penalty prescribed for an offense, the court may require any person under the legal age who violates this Act to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program authorized by the Department of Health for a period not to exceed the maximum period of confinement prescribed by law for the offense for which the individual has been convicted.