Town of Monroe, NY
Orange County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Monroe 2-18-1972 by resolution. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Terms of office of other elected officers — See Ch. 13.
The two Town Justices now serving as members of the Town Board of the Town of Monroe shall no longer serve as such members.
The Town Board shall consist of the Town Supervisor and four Town Councilmen.
Two additional Councilmen shall be elected by the electors of the Town of Monroe at the next succeeding biennial town election, to be held on November 6, 1973, as follows: one Councilman for a term of two years and thereafter for four years, and the other for a term of four years. Such terms shall commence on January 1, 1974.
After January 1, 1974, the two Town Justices shall exercise only such powers and shall be subject to only such duties, responsibilities and liabilities as shall be prescribed by law with respect to a Town Justice of a town of the first class.
This resolution shall be subject to a permissive referendum as provided by law.