Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us daily between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Town of Old Saybrook, CT
Middlesex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 11-24-1980 by Ord. No. 21 of the 1980 Code]
The Town of Old Saybrook, in accordance with the authority granted by C.G.S. § 7-274, does hereby establish a Board of Police Commissioners for the purpose of organizing and maintaining a Police Department in said Town.
Said Board shall consist of five electors,[1] all of whom shall be resident taxpayers of said Town, shall serve without compensation, shall be sworn to the faithful performance of their duties, and shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties from the Town treasury.
Editor's Note: Pursuant to Chapter 12, Section 6, of the Charter, the Board of Police Commissioners is now comprised of seven members.
Said members of said Board shall be elected in accordance with the provisions of C.G.S. § 9-201, but pending the next biennial Town election members of said Board shall be appointed by the Board of Selectmen to serve until their successors shall have been elected at such biennial election and shall have qualified to serve. Said Board of Police Commissioners shall have all of the powers bestowed upon such Commission by C.G.S. § 7-276.