Rappahannock County, VA
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Rappahannock as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Elections — See Ch. 16.
School Board — See Ch. 49.
[Adopted 5-2-2011.[1]]
Editor's Note: This ordinance superseded former Ch. 15, Election Districts, adopted 4-25-1991, as amended.
This chapter is made pursuant to § 15.2-1211 and Article 2.1, Chapter 3, Title 24.2 (§ 24.2-304.1 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, to accomplish the decennial reapportionment of the County of Rappahannock, Virginia. Said reapportionment is based upon population figures obtained from the 2010 census conducted by the United States Bureau of the Census, so to equalize the population between the election districts.
Representation on the Board of Supervisors shall be by election districts, one Supervisor to be elected from each election district. Representation on the School Board shall be by the same election districts as for the Board of Supervisors, one School Board member to be elected from each election district, as provided by Chapter 49 of this Code.
[Amended 4-2-2012]
The election districts for the County of Rappahannock shall continue to be five in number, and the Wakefield District shall continue to consist of two precincts, all of which shall continue with their present names and polling places as follows:
Election District/Precinct
Polling Place
Piedmont District
Sperryville Firehouse
Wakefield District
Chester Gap Precinct
Chester Gap Firehouse
Flint Hill Precinct
Flint Hill Firehouse
Hampton District
Washington Firehouse
Stonewall-Hawthorne District
Castleton Community Volunteer Firehouse
Jackson District
Amissville Firehouse
The boundaries of said five election districts and two precincts shall be as shown on the Election District Map, and as described by written boundary description, both of which were adopted as part of this Chapter 15 of the Rappahannock County Code after a duly advertised public hearing on May 2, 2011. Said map and written description are Appendix A to this Chapter 15. The Election District Map and written boundary description shall also be filed in the Board of Supervisors' Minute Book for May 2, 2011 in the Clerk's office of the Circuit Court of Rappahannock County, Virginia, in accordance with § 24.2-304.3 of the Code of Virginia.
The population of the respective election districts is hereby adjusted by changing the election district boundaries to be as shown on the Election District Map, and as described in the accompanying written boundary description, resulting in the following reapportionment of population among the election districts:
County Population Per 2010 Federal Census: 7373
Target Population
Population After Reapportionment
Piedmont District
Wakefield District
Hampton District
Stonewall-Hawthorne District
Jackson District
Total Deviation: 5%
Average Deviation: <1.6%
Deviation Range: -3% to +2%
Nothing herein shall be deemed to change the boundary of any magisterial district, each of which shall retain its historical boundary.
[Adopted 9-3-2014[1]]
Editor's Note: This article was adopted as Ch. 17, but was redesignated in order to maintain the organization of the Code.
There is hereby established for the County of Rappahannock, Virginia, a Central Absentee Voter Precinct (CAP) as allowed by § 24.2-712, Code of Virginia.
The geographical area encompassed by the CAP shall be the entire County of Rappahannock, Virginia.
The elections for which the CAP shall be used are all General or Special elections held in Rappahannock County on or after November 1, 2014.
The public building in which the CAP shall be located is the Office of the General Registrar, and has the address of 262A Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747. The CAP shall be located within a room meeting the requirements of GREBook § 16.3, Rev. 7.2014.
The CAP shall have at least three officers of election as provided for other precincts. The number of officers shall be determined by the electoral board.