City of East Orange, NJ
Essex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the City Council of the City of East Orange 3-9-1970 by Ord. No. 14-1970. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Administrative organization — See Ch. 5.
Municipal parking lots — See Ch. 192.
Vehicles and traffic — See Ch. 260.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:11A-1 et seq., and any amendment thereof or supplement thereto, a body corporate and politic, to be known as the "Parking Authority of the City of East Orange," is hereby created.
[Amended 4-28-2014 by Ord. No. 2-2014; 7-20-2015 by Ord. No. 31-2015]
The Parking Authority of the City of East Orange is hereby authorized to exercise powers granted to local parking authorities by an act of the Legislature of the State of New Jersey, provided that no real property shall be acquired by the power of eminent domain without the consent of the City Council of the City of East Orange, and provided, further, that the Parking Authority of the City of East Orange shall set parking rates and maximum parking times for parking meters, lots and other parking facilities owned or leased by, or otherwise within the jurisdiction of, the Parking Authority of the City of East Orange.
[Amended 5-29-2007 by Ord. No. 13-2007; 4-28-2014 by Ord. No. 2-2014]
The Parking Authority shall consist of seven Commissioners, one from each ward of the City, two of which are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by Council and five appointed and confirmed by City Council via resolution. The Commissioners who are first appointed shall be designated to serve one, two, three, four and five years, respectively, from the date of their appointment, but thereafter, Commissioners shall be appointed as aforesaid for a term of five years, except all vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term.
The Parking Authority shall make rules and regulations as authorized by law.