Township of Mantua, NJ
Gloucester County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Mantua 12-26-1951 (Ch. 138 of the 1978 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Vehicles and traffic — See Ch. 143.
It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a taxicab in Mantua Township without first securing an owner's taxicab license. An owner's taxicab license shall permit the owner to drive and operate his taxicab or taxicabs. If a person other than the owner drives the taxicab, the driver must secure a taxicab driver's license.
Application for both types of licenses shall be in writing and delivered to the Township Clerk. Licenses shall be issued by the Township Committee after investigation made by the members of the Committee or other Township officials. Licenses may be revoked, after a hearing, for any violation of this chapter or for violation of the traffic laws and ordinances.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 143, Vehicles and Traffic.
[Amended 4-25-1978]
An applicant for a taxicab owner's license must be 18 years of age, a citizen of the United States and a resident of Mantua Township for at least six months prior to the date of submitting application. If the applicant is a corporation, it must be a New Jersey corporation having an office in Mantua Township.
[Amended 4-25-1978]
An applicant for a taxicab driver's license must be 18 years of age, a citizen of the United States and a resident of Mantua Township.
All operators, whether owner or driver, must be duly licensed drivers of the State of New Jersey, must be in good health, must have good eyesight, must be able to speak, read and write the English language, must be of good character and shall know the New Jersey traffic laws and the provisions of the Township ordinances controlling traffic.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 143, Vehicles and Traffic.
[Amended 4-25-1978]
A. 
No owner's license shall be issued until the applicant has submitted a policy of insurance and power of attorney as provided for in N.J.S.A. 48:16-1 to 48:16-22, inclusive.
B. 
The policy shall be in the following amounts:
(1) 
Property damage: $5,000.
(2) 
Personal injury to one person: $100,000.
(3) 
Personal injury to two or more persons: $300,000.
The Township Committee may establish additional rules and regulations by resolution.
[Amended 4-25-1978]
A. 
All licenses shall expire on December 31 of each year.
B. 
The following fees shall be charged:
(1) 
For owner's license: $30 per year or fraction of year.
(2) 
For driver's license: $5 per year or fraction of year.
[Amended 4-25-1978; 4-25-1989]
A. 
Any person, firm or corporation violating any of the provisions of this chapter may have his license revoked by the Township Committee. Any person, entity or corporation who or which violates any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punishable by one or more of the following imprisonment in the county jail or any place provided by the municipality for the detention of prisoners for a term up to but not exceeding 90 days or by a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $2,000 or by a period of community service up to but not exceeding 90 days, or any combination of the above.
B. 
Each day that a violation exists, occurs or continues shall constitute a separate offense for the purpose of imposing the penalties referred to above.