[HISTORY: Adopted as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Article I Burglar, Fire, Holdup and Automatic Telephone Dialer Alarms
[Adopted by the STM 10-25-1999]
It is the intent and purpose of this article to provide minimum standards and regulations applicable to users and installers of burglar, fire, holdup and automatic telephone dialer alarms within the town and to provide penalties for noncompliance.
As used in this article, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- ALARM SYSTEM
- An assembly of equipment and devices (or a single device, such as a solid state unit which may operate from a 110-volt AC line) arranged to signal the presence of a hazard requiring urgent attention and to which police or fire department personnel are expected to respond. This includes all burglar alarms, fire alarms, holdup alarms and automatic telephone dialer alarms, except smoke detectors, which do not signal outside an alarmed premises, or alarm systems on motor vehicles.
- ALARM USER
- Any person, firm or corporation on whose premises any alarm system is maintained within the town.
- AUTOMATIC TELEPHONE DIALING DEVICE
- An alarm system which automatically sends over regular telephone lines, by direct connection or otherwise, a prerecorded message indicating the existence of the emergency situation that the alarm system is designed to detect.
- FALSE ALARM
- The accidental or intentional activation of an alarm system through mechanical failure, malfunction, improper installation or the negligence of the owner or lessee of an alarm system or of his employees or agents, resulting in response by fire and/or police personnel. Alarms caused by hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, other normally infrequent violent conditions or acts of God shall not be considered false alarms.
Any person, firm or corporation installing an alarm system within the town shall register with the Fire Marshal at least 10 days prior to anticipated installation. All existing alarm systems shall be registered by the homeowner with the Fire Marshal within 60 days of the effective date of this article.
No alarm system shall be installed by other than a licensed person or other person meeting the requirements set forth in the building and electrical codes of the State of Connecticut. No alarm system shall be installed unless an electrical permit to install an alarm system has been obtained from the Town Building Official or his designated representative as is required by the building and electrical codes of the State of Connecticut.
Alarm users having existing automatic telephone dialing devices shall comply with General Statutes Section 7-282b (Automatic telephone alarms), as amended, which presently states as follows: "No person shall install or connect any telephone device in his residence or place of business which device is capable of automatically calling and relaying recorded messages to a division of state police, or municipal police or fire department telephone number unless such person has given 10 days' notice of such connection or installation, in writing, to the state police troop commander, or chief law enforcement or fire safety officer, as the case may be, of the municipality where such residence or place of business is located."
Automatic telephone dialing devices in existence as of the effective date of this article shall be programed to a special telephone number, which is to be designated by the Fire Marshal, within 60 days of the effective date of this article, the cost of which is to be paid by the user.
In accordance with Section 22a-69-5 of the Administrative Regulations of the Department of Environmental Protection of the State of Connecticut, all residential alarm systems, as defined in this article, which sound an audible signal which may be heard outside of the protected premises, shall be equipped with a device which shall limit the duration of such audible signal to not more than 30 minutes.
False burglar, holdup and automatic telephone dialer alarms. A maximum of two false burglar, holdup or automatic telephone dialer alarms in any fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) shall be allowed without penalty from any alarm system of any person, firm or corporation. Upon receipt of a third false alarm, and for each false alarm thereafter during a year, a fine shall be imposed in accordance with § 102-5A of this article.
False fire alarms. A maximum of one false fire alarm in any fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) shall be allowed without penalty from any fire alarm system of any person, firm or corporation. Upon receipt of a second false fire alarm, and for each false fire alarm thereafter during any year, a fine shall be imposed in accordance with § 102-5B of this article.
False burglar, holdup and automatic telephone dialer alarms. Any person, firm or corporation found to be in violation of § 102-4A of this article shall be fined $50 upon the receipt of the third through eighth false alarms and $90 for each false alarm thereafter.
False fire alarms. Any person, firm or corporation found to be in violation of § 102-4B of this article shall be fined according to the following schedule:
For the first false fire alarm: no fine.
Upon receipt of the second false fire alarm: $50; however, in lieu of payment of a fine for a second false alarm, an inspection report by an alarm company certifying that the alarm system is functioning properly may be submitted, provided that such inspection and report was completed within 10 days of the false fire alarm.
For each false fire alarm thereafter: $90.
Any person, firm or corporation found to be in violation of § 102-3C of this article shall be fined $90 for each violation.