Town of Orange, CT
New Haven County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Selectmen of the Town of Orange 9-12-2001, effective 11-19-2001. Amendments noted where applicable.]
There shall be an Orange Government Access Television Committee (the Committee).
The Committee shall be responsible for assuring the day-to-day operation of the Orange Government Access Television Station, known as "Orange Government Access Television (OGAT)."
Furthermore, in order to maintain said station, the Committee shall act as the oversight authority for all employees, contractors, vendors and volunteers needed to operate the station and may delegate to the OGAT Coordinator the day-to-day responsibilities of said oversight authority. The Committee shall make recommendations to the First Selectman on station personnel selection, appointment, employment, and personnel matters. The Committee shall also be responsible for maintaining and enforcing the OGAT Policies and Procedures as approved by the Board of Selectmen and assure OGAT is in conformance with the policies and procedures of other controlling governmental entities and creations and cable service providers, by recommending changes to the Policies and Procedures as needed.
Furthermore, the Committee shall also be responsible for drafting the annual budget request for the station in accordance with Town of Orange budget process and maintain an oversight and approval role in the management and expenditure of approved funds for the management of the station.
The Committee is further charged with assuring that government programming consistent with its Policies and Procedures is made available to the citizens of Orange.
The Committee shall also maintain a liaison with the appointed representative from the Town of Orange to the Cable Advisory Council Area Two in order to stay abreast of the dynamic public/education/government (PEG) environment and to provide the representative with the Committee's concerns.
The Committee shall consist of seven voting members appointed in accordance with the Town Charter and one nonvoting student representative.
The nonvoting student representative member shall be appointed annually by the First Selectman with the term beginning 30 days after the November election date. The voting member terms shall consist of staggered four-year terms except as described below for the initial members of the board appointed following adoption of this chapter. The First Selectman shall appoint three members to serve until 30 days after the 2003 municipal election and four members to serve until 30 days after the 2005 municipal election. Thereafter, all terms shall be for four years.