[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Town of Franklin 2-2-1994. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Fees — See Ch. 82.
Editor's Note: This regulation supersedes former Ch. 240, Massage Parlors, adopted 7-8-1986, as amended.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- MASSAGE FACILITY
- Any location, place, area, structure or business where massage therapy is performed or practiced.
- MASSAGE THERAPY
- The act or technique of manually or mechanically rubbing, kneading or stroking the human body as a method of physical treatment.
Each massage therapist and massage facility shall obtain a valid license granted by the Franklin Board of Health, which license shall expire on December 31 of each year. Each applicant shall submit an original fee and annual renewal fee as determined by the Town of Franklin prior to issuance of license. A license shall not be transferable from a person or place.
No person shall practice massage therapy or operate a massage facility without being granted a license from the Franklin Board of Health except those individuals exempt from licensing requirements pursuant to MGL c. 140, § 51, or those individuals registered and licensed under the provisions of Chapter 112 of the Massachusetts General Laws.
Requirements for massage therapist licenses. Each person holding a valid massage therapist license obtained from the Franklin Board of Health shall meet the following requirements:
Be as least 18 years of age.
Be of good moral and ethical character.
Be a high school graduate or the equivalent.
Have completed an approved course in the art, science and practice of massage therapy in an approved, accredited and licensed institution or have had at least five years of experience in an approved and licensed massage facility in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Requirements For massage facility license. Each establishment holding a valid massage facility license obtained from the Franklin Board of Health shall meet the following requirements:
The interior of the massage facility and all equipment and fixtures shall be maintained in good repair and in safe, clean, sanitary condition, free from all accumulation of dirt and rubbish.
Clients and personnel shall have access to toilet and hand-washing facilities which shall be cleaned and disinfected at least once every 24 hours and which have available liquid soap, paper towels and a receptacle for disposing of used towels.
Each facility shall provide to its clients paper or cloth towels which may not be shared. Cloth towels must be washed and sanitized after each use.
The facility shall be well lighted, well ventilated and properly heated when seasonally indicated.
Clients shall at all times wear garments in a manner such that there is no exposure of the male/female genitalia.
Massage therapists shall wear proper body clothing and shall practice strict hygienic practices.
A daily log shall be kept by the massage facility operator recording the date and time of each client visit, including the name, age and address of each client and method of service given. The daily log shall be open and available for inspection by the State and Local Health Department.
All equipment and fixtures in the facility, including shower stalls, steam, sauna and whirlpool baths shall be installed in accordance with accepted plumbing, gas fitting and electrical wiring standards.
No person with skin lesions or other evidence of skin disease shall be accepted as a client until a certificate of approval is given by a licensed physician.
No massage facility as defined herein shall operate between 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m., inclusive, unless given written authorization by the Franklin Board of Health.
The Franklin Board of Health, Health Agent or State Department of Public Health shall have access at all reasonable times to any massage facility for the purpose of inspecting said facility.
The Franklin Board of Health shall have the power and responsibility for enforcement of this chapter.
Any person who violates one or more of the provisions of this chapter shall be penalized through noncriminal disposition in accordance with Massachusetts General Laws, c. 40, § 21D. A fine of up to $100 per day shall apply. Each day's failure to comply shall constitute a separate and distinct offense.
The Franklin Board of Health may revoke, without a hearing, any massage therapist or massage facility license granted by it for such cause as it deems sufficient.