[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the Township of Mount Olive 5-24-1977 by Ord. No. 17-77 (Ch. 253 of the 1990 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
Vehicles and traffic – See Ch. 375.
No minibike, trail bike, motorcycle or other similar vehicle shall be permitted to be driven, operated or ridden upon municipally owned property, including playgrounds, parks, playing fields, baseball fields, etc., by any person, whether licensed or unlicensed by the State of New Jersey. This prohibition shall not extend to the paved driveways, parking lots and similar areas normally reserved for vehicles when said vehicle is driven, operated or ridden by an individual holding a valid motor vehicle license from the State of New Jersey.
Any person having in his possession a minibike, trail bike or motorcycle on the area of municipally owned property on which the use of said vehicle is prohibited, as defined in § 384-1, shall be presumed to have said vehicle on the property for the purpose of operating, driving or riding said vehicle, and said possession of said vehicle, unless said presumption of intent to operate, drive or ride said vehicle is rebutted by the individual, shall be a violation of this chapter.
Any person authorized to enforce this chapter who discovers any minor not having a valid New Jersey motor vehicle license to operate said vehicle either operating, driving, riding or possessing said vehicle in violation of this chapter shall be authorized to remove said vehicle from the possession of said minor. Said vehicle shall be kept in storage until redeemed by the minor's parent, legal guardian and/or responsible adult. Prior to release of said vehicle, all storage and impounding fees as required by the operator of the place of storage shall be paid. No vehicle may be redeemed except between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. weekdays. The maximum fee to be charged for the impounding of a vehicle shall be $20 and $2 per day for storage.
[Amended 9-25-1990 by Ord. No. 40-90]
Any person, firm or corporation who violates any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punishable by one or more of the following: by imprisonment for a term not exceeding 90 days or by a fine not exceeding $1,000 or by a period of community service not exceeding 90 days.