Borough of Dumont, NJ
Bergen County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Dumont by Ord. No. 691 (Secs. 7-22 through 7-29 of the 1970 Revised Ordinances); amended in its entirety 6-6-2012 by Ord. No. 1443. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
Board of Health regulation of dry-cleaning establishments — See Ch. 486.

§ 193-1 Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
Refers to an establishment where one or more machines or devices are offered for public use, which machines, upon insertion of a coin, coins or token, or by other means, provide self-service dry-cleaning and/or clothes laundering facilities.

§ 193-2 Permit required.

No person shall engage in the operation of a coin-operated laundry washing facility, commonly known as a "laundromat," in the Borough without first having applied to and procured a permit from the Board of Health of the Borough so to do, or without complying with all the provisions of the Coin-Operated Dry Cleaning Establishment Code of New Jersey (1962) adopted by said Board of Health.[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 486, Dry-Cleaning Establishments.

§ 193-3 Application for permit.

Application for the permit shall be made in conformity with the provisions of said Coin-Operated Dry Cleaning Establishment Code of New Jersey (1962). In addition, each application shall set forth the number of machines or devices to be located on the premises for which the licenses are required.

§ 193-4 Issuance of permit.

Permits shall be issued in conformity with the provisions of the Coin-Operated Dry Cleaning Establishment Code of New Jersey (1962) as adopted by the Board of Health of the Borough.

§ 193-5 Permit term, fee and nontransferability.

All permits shall expire on June 30 of the year in which issued.
The permit fee shall be $17 per year for each machine or device to be used, provided that the minimum fee shall be $60 per annum. Permit fees shall be paid to the Borough Clerk. Such fees are imposed for the purpose of raising revenue and for regulation and control.
No permit issued under this chapter shall be transferable.

§ 193-6 Suspension, revocation and reinstatement of permits.

Permits issued under authority of this chapter may be suspended or revoked for cause, after due notice and hearing, by the Board of Health of the Borough. Said Board of Health shall also have the power to reinstate the permit.

§ 193-7 Applicability to interstate commerce.

No provision of this chapter shall be applied so as to impose any unlawful burden on either interstate commerce or on any activity of the state or federal government.

§ 193-8 Violations and penalties.

Any person who violates any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine not exceeding $500, or by imprisonment for a term not exceeding 90 days, or both.